Album Launch

Previous events

Helen Townsend - Little Lover Album Launch

The Duke of George, 36 Duke St, East Fremantle

Helen Townsend’s debut album Little Lover is a departure into an edgier and rockier sound for singer-songwriter whose music has crossed the plains from Folk to Americana and Bluegrass to Alt Country.

The album features twelve of her original compositions, including promised land co-written with Bill Chambers.

Little Lover will be launched on 23 August at Duke of George in East Fremantle, with seven of the nine musicians that play on the album performing with her on the night.

Helen hand-picked the cream of Western Australian-based talent to play on the album a mix of well-known names and talented newcomers: Lee Jones - lead guitar, lap steel, piano (The Sleepy Jackson, Eskimo Joe, Ruby Boots); Belle Harvey – Co-Producer, guitar, bass, vocals and co-writer on Drinking All Over Again; (Ben is based in Melb) Ben Franz - pedal steel, (Waifs, Mick Thomas and the Roving Commission); Bronton Ainsworth – drums ( WAAPA Jazz Graduate, own ensemble for the Perth Jazz Society.); James Vinciullio – bass, pandiera( Milford Street Shakers and Randa and The Soul Kingdom); James Newhouse – Co-Producer, Recording Engineer, guitar, vocals (The Waifs’ 25th anniversary double album Ironbark); Rachel Aquilla – viola (WASO, Perth Symphony, Aquilla Music); Shannon Smith – Vocals (Sweetwood, Zeppelinz, Joiride), Shannon Puig – Trumpet (Tijuana Cartel, Stoned Cold Super Friends); Sophie Curtis – Cello (Perth Symphony Orchestra).

Only Ben and Sophie will not be joining Helen onstage at the launch due to pre-existing commitments.


Join our mailing list for the latest news